Certifications in Arboriculture

An arborist is, by definition, an individual who is trained in the art and science of the installation and the care and maintenance of individual trees. Certification in arboriculture is a voluntary process, and one through which tree professionals can document their own knowledge levels.

The certificates issued by the International Society of Arboriculture identify professional arborists in the tree care sector, who have passed a detailed exam covering all aspects of arboriculture. The certification is valid for three years, during which time the arborist is required to attend further ongoing training courses in order be able to renew the certification. 

The certification program is aimed at improving the standard of work carried out on trees, encouraging ongoing training and also promoting the figure of the professional arborist. It is also acts as a guarantee for tree owners (the customers) because, by employing a certified arborist, they have a greater assurance that their trees will not be damaged or mutilated because they are being tended to by a professional..

These are the different certifications issued by the International Society of Arboriculture:

  • ISA Board Certified Master Arborist
  • ISA Certified Arborist
  • ISA Certified Arborist Municipal Specialist
  • ISA Certified Arborist Utility Specialist
  • ISA Certified Tree Worker Aerial Lift Specialist
  • ISA Certified Tree Worker Climber Specialist

The European Arboricultural Council (EAC) is a body that brings together delegates from the various arboricultural bodies across Europe. They meet in order to raise the standing and advance the role of the arborist as a profession through research and training. The EAC's goals include: harmonising the standard of professional practise of those working in the field of ornamental arboriculture in Europe; the enhancing of the profession, in the eyes of the public - thanks also to uniform tree care practises in all countries, and the raising of levels in terms of job performance. TheEuropean Arboricoltural Council organises the ETW "European Tree Worker" and ETT "European Tree Technician" certifications, which attest to the professional skills and expertise in the field of arboriculture: it is an essential tool for promoting the profession and correct practices in arboriculture.